Blog/Credit Card Application Rules Credit Card Application Rules by Issuer
By Nathaniel Booth | Updated September 3, 2026
Every bank has its own limits on who it will approve and who can earn a welcome bonus. Miss one and you spend a hard credit pull on an application that was never going to pay. This page collects the rules for each issuer we track, with the date we last checked them and a link to where the answer came from.
Two kinds of rule appear here, and the difference matters. Welcome bonus restrictions are usually written into the card's own terms, so they can be read and quoted. Application limits like 5/24 are almost never published: they are patterns the community assembled from thousands of approvals and denials. We mark anything we could not confirm against a current source as unconfirmed rather than presenting it as settled. Of the 51 rules listed here, 32 are confirmed.
Bank account bonuses work on a different clock. Those are governed by cooldowns, meaning a waiting period after a previous bonus or a closed account, commonly 12 or 24 months at the same bank, and they rarely involve a credit pull at all. Those are covered in the bank bonus waiting periods guide.
Chase
Chase is the strictest major issuer on who it will approve, and the limit counts cards from every bank, not just its own.
The 5/24 rule
Chase usually declines you if you have opened five or more personal cards from any bank in the past 24 months.
Chase has never published this rule, but it has held since 2015 and still holds in 2026. The count covers personal cards from every issuer, not only Chase, and it includes cards where you are just an authorized user, because those show on your credit report. Store cards count only if they can be used elsewhere, so a branded Visa or Mastercard counts and a closed-loop store card does not. Auto loans, mortgages and applications that were denied do not count.
One bonus per Sapphire card, for lifepersonal cards
Each Sapphire card pays its welcome bonus once per lifetime, and holding one no longer blocks the bonus on the other.
This replaced the old 48-month Sapphire family rule on January 22, 2026. Until then any Sapphire bonus in the previous 48 months blocked a new one, and Preferred and Reserve were treated as a single family. The terms on each card page now say only that the card is unavailable if you already have that same one open, and that the bonus may not be available if you previously held that card or already received its bonus. Chase adds that it may also consider how many cards you have opened and closed.
Business cards and your 5/24 countbusiness cards
A Chase business card does not raise your 5/24 count, but your count still decides whether you get approved for it.
Chase business cards are generally not reported on your personal credit report, so opening one does not push your number up. The count you already have still gates the approval, which is why people at 4/24 often take the business card first. Most other issuers behave the same way. The known exceptions are Capital One, Discover and TD Bank, whose business cards do report to personal credit and can raise your count.
Roughly two cards per 30 daysUnconfirmed
Chase tends to approve about two personal cards, or about one business card, in any rolling 30 days.
This is a community pattern rather than a Chase rule, and the data points behind it are not consistent. The usual guidance is at most two new personal Chase cards in a rolling 30-day window, and roughly one business card in that same window, with a personal and a business application close together sometimes counting against each other. Some people report being made to wait longer than 30 days. Use it for spacing applications, not as a promise.
American Express
Amex will usually approve you, then refuse the bonus. Almost every rule here is about welcome offer eligibility rather than approval.
One welcome bonus per card, for lifepersonal cards
If you have held a given Amex card before, you are normally not eligible for that card's welcome offer again.
Amex has worked this way since around 2014, and closing the card does not reset it. The restriction is enforced through wording in the offer terms, along the lines of not being eligible if you have or have had the card. A widely repeated belief that the block quietly lapses after about seven years is not something Amex states anywhere, so treat that as folklore rather than policy. Business cards are generally a separate pool from personal ones.
Card families share bonus eligibilitypersonal cards
Related Amex cards are grouped, so having had one can block the welcome offer on its siblings.
The Membership Rewards group covers Platinum, Gold and Green, and the Green Card terms say you may not be eligible if you have or have had the Green, the Platinum or the Gold, or previous versions of those cards. Hilton groups the Hilton, Surpass and Aspire cards. Marriott groups Bevy and Brilliant. Delta groups Blue, Gold, Platinum and Reserve. Personal and business cards sit in separate families, so a business version does not usually spend your personal eligibility.
The eligibility check before the credit pull
Amex tells you partway through the application whether you qualify for the welcome offer, before it pulls your credit.
A notice can appear mid-application saying you are not eligible for the advertised welcome offer, usually because you have held that card before. It shows up before the credit check, so you can abandon the application at that point with no hard pull and no score impact. If no notice appears, that is generally read as a sign you are eligible, though it is not a written guarantee.
One card per 5 days, two per 90 daysUnconfirmed
Amex approves about one new credit card in any 5 days and no more than two in any 90 days.
Community-observed rather than published by Amex. Personal and business credit cards share the same count for both windows. Charge cards with no preset spending limit, meaning Platinum, Gold, Green and their business versions, are generally treated as outside both counts, which is why a charge card sometimes goes through when a credit card application would not.
Five referrals per card per yearpersonal cards
Since April 8, 2026, each Amex card account can earn a referral bonus at most five times per calendar year.
Amex's own referral terms state that you can earn a referral bonus up to a maximum of five times per card account per calendar year. This replaced an older cap counted in points rather than in referrals. The limit is per card product, so someone holding two different Amex cards has a separate five on each card's referral link. Counters reset when the change took effect, regardless of what had already been earned that year. The business card referral terms were not separately checked in this pass.
No lifetime language offersUnconfirmed
Some targeted offers leave out the lifetime restriction wording, which can let a past cardholder earn the bonus again.
No lifetime language, usually shortened to NLL, is community shorthand rather than an Amex term. It describes an offer whose fine print omits the usual clause about having or having had the card. Because the once per lifetime rule is enforced through that exact wording, its absence can mean a repeat bonus is possible, but nothing guarantees it. These offers appear as targeted mailers and account pop-ups, sometimes as links passed around publicly, and they come and go.
Wells Fargo
Wells Fargo runs two separate clocks: one on how often you can open a card, and a much longer one on when a bonus is available again.
One new card every 6 monthspersonal cards
Wells Fargo usually will not approve another consumer card if you opened one with them in the past 6 months.
The language quoted across current guides is that you may not qualify for an additional Wells Fargo branded consumer credit card if you have opened one in the last 6 months. This replaced a longer wait that applied before 2022. Business cards are generally described as a separate bucket from personal ones, but sources contradict each other on whether the Signify Business Cash card sits inside or outside this window, so do not count on the business exception.
48 months between bonuses on a cardpersonal cards
No welcome bonus on a Wells Fargo card if you held that card, or opened it, within the past 48 months.
The quoted terms wording is that you may not be eligible for introductory rates, fees or rewards bonus offers if you have the card or opened one within the last 48 months. The window was widened from a much shorter one around 2024 and now covers the main personal lineup, including Active Cash, Autograph, Autograph Journey and Reflect. We read this in current write-ups rather than on Wells Fargo's own terms page, which we could not reach, so check the specific card's fine print before applying.
15 months on the Choice Privileges cardspersonal cards
The two Choice Privileges cards keep a shorter 15-month bonus window instead of the 48-month one.
Opening, or earning a bonus on, either the Choice Privileges Mastercard or the Choice Privileges Select Mastercard in the past 15 months blocks a new bonus on either of them. This is a family rule about the bonus rather than a separate limit on approvals. It is what is left of the shorter window Wells Fargo used across the board before the 48-month change.
U.S. Bank
U.S. Bank publishes less about its application rules than any other large issuer here, and the numbers people quote do not agree.
No published application limit
U.S. Bank does not publish a cap on applications, and current guides quote different thresholds from each other.
We could not find any U.S. Bank page stating a limit on applications or a required waiting period. Guides disagree: some say declines start around five new cards from any issuer in 12 months, others quote two to four, and at least one states outright that U.S. Bank has no hard limits or waiting periods. Spacing applications out is sensible caution here rather than a known threshold you can plan against.
Same-card bonus window is not documentedUnconfirmedpersonal cards
The only restriction we could confirm is that you cannot take the welcome offer while you already hold that same card.
A 24-month wait to earn a bonus again on the same U.S. Bank card gets quoted around, but we could not find it stated anywhere, and Doctor of Credit's own reference table leaves the U.S. Bank figure blank. Until a source turns up, assume only that currently holding the card rules out its welcome offer, and read that card's terms before you apply.
Altitude Reserve wants a banking relationshipUnconfirmedpersonal cards
The Altitude Reserve is widely reported to require an existing U.S. Bank account before it will approve you.
This one is about a single product rather than about how fast you apply. Current guides consistently say approval for the Altitude Reserve effectively requires an existing U.S. Bank relationship, such as a checking account. We did not verify it on U.S. Bank's own site, so treat it as widely reported rather than published.
Barclays
Barclays publishes almost nothing about approvals, and everything below is a pattern people assembled from reported approvals and denials.
The 6/24 patternUnconfirmed
Barclays is reported to decline applicants with six or more new cards from any bank in the past 24 months.
This mirrors Chase's 5/24, but every current source calls it soft and inconsistently applied rather than a rule. Approvals above the threshold do happen, and an existing Barclays card or banking relationship is often said to help. Barclays has published nothing establishing it, so treat it as a risk factor rather than a wall.
You must not have held the account beforeUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Barclays bonuses are usually limited to people who do not have, and have not previously had, an account in that program.
The terms quoted for the JetBlue and AAdvantage Aviator cards restrict the bonus to applicants who do not currently have and have not previously had an account in that loyalty program, with no reset window written into the contract text itself. A rough 24-month re-eligibility figure circulates, built from reported approvals rather than from the terms. We saw that terms language through search results rather than on the terms page itself, so read the fine print on the specific card.
About one new card every 6 monthsUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Barclays is reported to approve at most one new personal card every 6 months.
Described consistently across current guides and in Doctor of Credit's reference table, but derived from reported approvals rather than published by Barclays. As with the 6/24 pattern, an existing relationship with the bank is often said to loosen it.
Discover
Discover's limits are unusually plain: two cards, about a year apart. Capital One now owns it, so those limits may not stay put.
Two Discover cards at mostpersonal cards
You can be the primary cardholder on at most two Discover card accounts at once.
This is Discover's own stated limit, quoted from its customer service and restated in a card review updated in August 2026. Being an authorized user on someone else's card is separate from the primary cardholder count. Business cards are probably a separate bucket, but we could not confirm that either way.
About a year between Discover cardspersonal cards
You generally wait about twelve billing cycles after opening a Discover card before you can open another.
Reported consistently as roughly a year measured from account opening, and described in one source as twelve billing cycles rather than a calendar year. That matches Discover's own quoted wording of at least a year. It stacks with the two-card limit rather than replacing it.
Cashback Match is for new cardmemberspersonal cards
Discover doubles your first year of cash back instead of paying a fixed bonus, and the offer is limited to new cardmembers.
Discover's own terms say the match is exclusively for new cardmembers and runs for the first 12 billing periods or 365 days, whichever is longer. What the terms do not say is whether a second Discover card, which the two-card limit allows, counts as new for this purpose, or whether ever having held a Discover card rules it out for good. Nothing we read resolves that, so do not treat it as settled in either direction.
Now owned by Capital One
Capital One completed its purchase of Discover in May 2025 and moved Discover accounts onto its own platform in July 2026.
No change to the two-card limit, the roughly twelve-month wait or the Cashback Match terms has been reported as a result. That is a snapshot rather than a promise. Which bank's application rules survive the merger over the long run is genuinely unknown, and Capital One's own limits are tighter in places, so check both issuers before planning a sequence that spans them.
Citi
Citi's bonus rule is written into the card terms and is easy to check. Its application pacing rules are not published at all.
48 months between bonuses on a cardpersonal cards
No new bonus on a Citi card if you received a bonus on that same card in the past 48 months.
Citi's own terms put it this way: bonus points are not available if you received a new account bonus for that account in the past 48 months, or if you converted another Citi card on which you earned a bonus in the last 48 months into this one. The clock runs from the date you received the bonus, not from when you opened or closed the account, and closing the card does not reset it. Each card is judged on its own bonus history rather than as one big family, so a bonus on one Strata card does not block another. The exception is that carryover through a product change.
One card per 8 days, two per 65 daysUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Citi is reported to approve one personal card per 8 days and no more than two in any 65 days.
Usually written as the 8/65 rule. It is a community-tracked pattern rather than anything in Citi's published terms. The real internal cutoff on the second number is thought to be closer to 60 days, with 65 used as a safety margin because Citi's counting has been inconsistent. In practice people apply, wait until day nine for a second card, and day sixty-six for a third. Business cards reportedly follow a separate and longer gap, and sources disagree on whether business applications count against the personal windows.
Inquiry sensitivity, roughly six in six monthsUnconfirmedpersonal cards
A lot of recent hard inquiries can hurt your odds at Citi, but there is no reliable cutoff number.
This is the softest of the Citi patterns, and the one people most often overstate. Around six inquiries in six months is the figure usually quoted, and plenty of applicants are approved above it. A stricter three in six months was reported for the Premier card back in 2020, and we found nothing from recent years confirming that tighter number still applies, so treat it as stale rather than current.
Capital One
Capital One pulls all three credit bureaus, so a freeze anywhere blocks the application. Its Venture cards now share one bonus clock.
Applications pull all three bureaus
A Capital One application usually creates a hard inquiry at Equifax, Experian and TransUnion at the same time.
This is reported consistently everywhere and treated as a structural fact rather than a soft pattern. The practical consequence is the part people miss: a security freeze at any single bureau is enough to stop the application, so lift all three before you apply. Capital One does not state this in its own consumer content, so it comes from community sources rather than the issuer.
48 months between bonuses on a cardpersonal cards
No welcome bonus if you already received one on that same product in the past 48 months.
The disclosed wording quoted across current trackers is that existing or previous cardmembers are not eligible for this product if they have received a new cardmember bonus for this product in the past 48 months. We could not load Capital One's own bonus fine print directly, so this comes from trackers quoting the terms consistently rather than from the issuer's page.
The Venture cards became one bonus familypersonal cards
Since October 2025, a bonus on a higher Venture tier blocks the lower ones for 48 months, but not the other way round.
Capital One linked VentureOne, Venture and Venture X into a single family with a one-directional restriction. A Venture X bonus only blocks a future Venture X bonus. A Venture bonus blocks Venture and Venture X. A VentureOne bonus blocks all three. So you can work up the lineup over time and still earn each bonus, but you cannot come back down inside 48 months. The Venture X Business card sits outside this family. This comes from several current trackers describing matching mechanics rather than from Capital One's own terms text, which we could not load.
One new card every 6 monthsUnconfirmed
Capital One is reported to approve at most one new card, personal or business, every 6 months.
Capital One does not state this. Its own guidance page discusses general industry advice about waiting six months between applications without claiming it as its own policy. Community sources describe the limit as covering the whole lineup rather than one family, and several note that enforcement has loosened compared with a few years ago, with approvals inside the window happening occasionally.
How many cards you can hold is disputedUnconfirmedpersonal cards
The old two-card ceiling is no longer agreed on, and Capital One says there is no fixed number.
Capital One's own page says there is no definitive answer to how many of its cards you can hold, and that approval depends on your credit, account history and more. Current guides disagree with each other: some keep the traditional two-card ceiling, others describe up to five based on reported approvals. There is no settled number to plan around, which is itself the useful answer.
Bank of America
Bank of America runs two separate counts: one on its own cards, and a looser one on cards from every bank that eases if you bank there.
The 2/3/4 ruleUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Bank of America caps its own cards at 2 in 2 months, 3 in a rolling 12 months and 4 in a rolling 24 months.
This counts only Bank of America cards, not cards from other banks. Crossing any one of the three thresholds is described as an automatic decline that a reconsideration call will not reverse, which makes it worth counting carefully before you apply. Bank of America has not posted the rule anywhere, though phone representatives are reported to have confirmed it, and sources from late 2025 through September 2026 all describe the same three numbers. Business cards appear to sit outside the count, but that part is not confirmed.
7/12, or 3/12 without an accountUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Opening 7 or more cards from any bank in 12 months can trigger a denial, or just 3 if you do not bank with them.
Unlike 2/3/4, this one counts new accounts at every issuer. The looser threshold is said to apply if you hold a Bank of America deposit account or a Merrill investment account, which is the practical reason people open a checking account first. The evidence here is thin and worth knowing about: it traces back to a single 2019 report citing an unnamed source, and has been repeated since without fresh confirmation. Current sources call it non-strict and cite plenty of approvals above the line. We found no sign of a separate 24-month version despite it sometimes being described that way.
Roughly 24 months between bonuses on a cardUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Many Bank of America cards will not pay a new bonus until about 24 months after the last one on that card.
The pattern is consistently reported, but the exact wording varies from card to card: 24 months since opening on some, since closing or since the last bonus on others. That is a shorter window than the 48 months at Citi and Capital One. It reportedly does not apply to business cards. Because there is no single bank-wide sentence to quote, read the specific card's terms rather than assuming the general pattern covers it.
Cardless
Cardless dropped its one card per lifetime policy in 2025 and replaced it with waiting periods, including one that starts when you get declined.
60 days between approvalspersonal cards
You wait 60 days after your most recent Cardless approval before you can apply for another Cardless card.
This is a timing rule rather than a cap on how many you can hold, and it replaced the stricter one card per lifetime policy Cardless dropped around May 2025. Several current trackers report it with matching figures. Cardless's own help pages blocked us, so this comes from those trackers rather than from the issuer's own wording.
45 days after a declinepersonal cards
If Cardless declines you, you wait 45 days before applying for any Cardless card again.
Separate from, and on top of, the 60-day approval gap. The same trackers report both together with identical figures. It is unusual for an issuer to have a published cooldown on denials, so it is worth noting before you try a speculative application.
One card per partner brandpersonal cards
You can hold only one Cardless card per partner brand at a time, such as one Qatar Airways card.
You cannot hold two of the same product, and you cannot reapply for a card you already have. This is the limit that replaced the old one card per lifetime rule, so holding a card for one brand no longer stops you getting a different brand's card.
FNBO
First National Bank of Omaha publishes little. One possible waiting period has been reported, on thin evidence.
A possible 18-month gapUnconfirmedpersonal cards
Early reports suggest FNBO will not approve a new card within 18 months of your last FNBO approval.
This rests on two reader reports collected in December 2025, and Doctor of Credit says plainly that it is unclear whether the rule covers all FNBO cards or only the Amtrak co-brand, and whether one product blocks another. FNBO has said nothing about it. Treat it as an early signal worth knowing rather than a rule to plan around.
Same-day applications pull separately
FNBO does not combine hard pulls across multiple applications on the same day, so each one is its own inquiry.
Worth knowing if you planned to apply for two FNBO cards at once to save an inquiry, because that does not work here. This is about the credit pull rather than about eligibility, but it changes the cost of applying.
No repeat-bonus restriction foundUnconfirmedpersonal cards
We found no FNBO clause blocking a repeat welcome bonus, but we could not fully read its rewards terms.
FNBO's own rewards terms document did not render cleanly enough for us to scan it for an eligibility clause, and no tracker reports one. That is a soft negative rather than a green light. Read the specific card's terms before assuming you can earn the same bonus twice.
Synchrony
Synchrony issues store cards, and most of them have no welcome bonus at all, which makes most eligibility questions moot here.
No second card of the same productpersonal cards
Synchrony will not approve you for a card you already hold.
A standard underwriting guardrail rather than a churning rule, and it says nothing about how long you wait after closing one. We found this stated in a single strong source and could not cross-check it elsewhere.
Most Synchrony cards have no welcome bonuspersonal cards
The large majority of Synchrony's store cards offer promotional financing instead of a sign-up bonus.
A minority of cards do pay a small bonus, the Sam's Club Mastercard among them, and we found no reported waiting period for earning those again. We also found no application frequency limit for Synchrony anywhere, so there is no known pacing rule to work around.
Truist
We found no published application rules for Truist, and it is absent from every major issuer rule guide.
No published application rules
Truist does not appear in any of the major issuer rule guides, and we found no published limits or bonus restrictions.
We checked several comprehensive issuer rule guides directly and Truist is absent from all of them, and Doctor of Credit has no article on Truist card rules. Truist's own card page lists its welcome bonus with no prior cardholder eligibility clause visible. An absent documented rule is not the same as an absent rule, so read the specific card's terms, but there is nothing known here to plan around.
Elan Financial Services
Elan is the bank behind about a thousand other banks. The name on the card is your local bank or credit union, but Elan writes the terms and makes the approval decision.
Elan is the creditor, not the bank on the card
Elan Financial Services issues cards for roughly 1,300 to 1,400 partner banks and credit unions, and it is a U.S. Bank subsidiary.
Elan runs a white label card program: the local institution puts its name and its rate on the card, and Elan underwrites, approves and services it. Elan's own site says it has 1,300 bank and credit union partners; another current guide puts the figure near 1,400, so treat it as a range. Elan is part of U.S. Bank, which U.S. Bank describes in its own words as its Elan Financial Services credit card program. Two practical consequences. The approval decision and the servicing are Elan's, so a good relationship with the local branch does not decide the application. And the same underlying product is sold under many different bank names, so two cards that look unrelated can be the same Elan card.
Membership requirement depends on the partner
Most Elan partners let anyone apply with no existing account. A minority of credit unions require membership first.
There is no single Elan rule here, and that is the useful thing to know. A current agent issuer guide reports that most partners take applications with no pre-existing relationship, no account and no deposit history, while a small number of credit unions do require membership. We confirmed one of each kind: BluPeak Credit Union's own card page says cardholders must meet membership and account criteria, and several bank partners state no such requirement. The only reliable answer is the specific card's own page, so check it before you spend a hard pull. We looked for Central Pacific Bank's policy specifically and neither its card pages nor its Elan application portal state one either way.
No known application limit
Nobody documents an Elan equivalent of Chase 5/24, and we could not find one described anywhere.
We checked Doctor of Credit's Elan coverage and the major issuer rule guides and found no numeric limit on how many Elan cards you can open or how often. This is not even a consistent community pattern, it appears to be absent from the discussion entirely. Whether an Elan application interacts with U.S. Bank's own application limits, given that Elan is a U.S. Bank subsidiary, is also undocumented, and we found no source that addresses it. An absent documented rule is not an absent rule, so treat this as unknown rather than as permission. Elan cards are ordinary personal liability accounts and do show up on your consumer credit reports, so they still count toward other issuers' limits, Chase 5/24 included.
Re-earning a bonus at a second partner bankUnconfirmed
Some people report earning the same Elan product's bonus again under a different bank's name. We could not verify it.
Because one Elan product is sold under hundreds of bank brands, the obvious question is whether a bonus earned on one bank's version blocks the same product at another. Search results point at forum threads reporting that it does not, but every one of those threads was unreachable when we tried to open it, and no source we could actually read addresses the question. We are recording this as an open question rather than as a rule. The card's own welcome offer terms are the thing that binds, and they are usually written per card program, so read them before assuming either answer.
Which credit bureau Elan pullsUnconfirmed
Sources disagree. One says TransUnion as a rule, another says Elan uses whichever of the three it likes.
We read two current sources and they contradict each other. One agent issuer guide says Elan typically pulls TransUnion for card applications. WalletHub says Elan may use Experian, Equifax or TransUnion and does not always use the same one. With a direct conflict and no issuer statement to settle it, plan for any of the three rather than freezing two and assuming the third.
Central Pacific Bank
Central Pacific Bank does not actually issue these cards. Elan Financial Services does, and Elan makes the approval decision.
Cards are issued by Elan Financial Services
Central Pacific Bank licenses its card program, and Elan Financial Services is the creditor and issuer.
The bank's own card page sends you to an Elan branded application portal, which states that Elan is the creditor and issuer under license from Visa and Mastercard. Elan is a white-label issuer used by more than a thousand small banks and credit unions. This matters because the approval decision, the terms and the servicing are Elan's rather than the local bank's.
No published application rules
Neither Central Pacific Bank nor Elan publishes application limits, and neither appears in the major rule guides.
We searched the main issuer rule guides and Doctor of Credit and found nothing under either name. A single forum comment mentions a general one new account per 12 months pattern on some Elan programs, but it was tied to a different card entirely and nothing corroborates it, so we are not treating it as a rule. Read the specific card's terms.
Credit unions and small banks
Smaller institutions almost never publish application limits, so the card's own terms and the membership requirements are what actually gate you.
No published application rules
Small banks and credit unions rarely publish application limits, and there is usually no community rule either.
The rules on this page exist because a handful of large issuers apply them consistently enough that people could map them from thousands of reported approvals and denials. Smaller institutions do not generate that volume and do not publish an equivalent. Two things still apply. Most credit unions require membership before you can apply at all, usually tied to where you live, work, worship or study, and that is a separate gate from the credit decision. And the welcome bonus terms on the card itself can still restrict earning it twice, so read them.
FAQ
What is the Chase 5/24 rule?
Chase generally will not approve you for a new card if you have opened five or more personal credit cards from any bank in the past 24 months. It is not a published Chase policy, but it has been reported consistently since 2015 and it still holds in 2026. Authorized user cards count toward the number, and most issuers' business cards do not, because they usually are not reported on your personal credit report.
Is the Chase Sapphire 48-month rule still in effect?
No. Chase replaced it on January 22, 2026. The old rule blocked a Sapphire bonus if you had earned any Sapphire bonus in the previous 48 months, and it treated Sapphire Preferred and Sapphire Reserve as one family. Now each Sapphire card carries its own once per lifetime bonus, and holding one no longer blocks the bonus on the other. Chase's own card pages no longer mention the sibling card or a 48-month window.
Does American Express really limit welcome bonuses to once per lifetime?
In practice, yes. If you have held a specific Amex card before, you are normally not eligible for that card's welcome offer again, and closing the card does not reset it. Amex also groups related cards into families, so the Platinum, Gold and Green share eligibility language. Amex shows an eligibility notice partway through the application, before any credit check, so you can withdraw at no cost if you do not qualify.
Which issuer rules are officially published?
Very few. Banks rarely publish their approval logic. Welcome bonus restrictions usually do appear in the card's own terms, so those are checkable. The application limits people trade around, such as 5/24 or 2/3/4, are almost always community observations built from thousands of data points. Every rule on this page is labeled so you can tell which kind you are reading.
Do bank account bonuses have the same kind of rules?
They work differently. Bank account bonuses are usually governed by a cooldown, meaning a period after a previous bonus or a closed account during which you are not eligible again, commonly 12 or 24 months at the same bank. They generally do not involve a hard credit pull or a cross-issuer counting rule like 5/24.
Rules change without notice, and the unpublished ones change without any announcement at all. Check the review date on each rule before you lean on it, and read the offer terms on the issuer's own page before you apply. If you spot something out of date, tell us on the
corrections page.