Blog/Best Checking Bonuses/1st Advantage Federal Credit Union $200 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & Requirements

1st Advantage Federal Credit Union $200 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & Requirements

By Nathaniel Booth2026-04-10Bank Bonuses
CheckingBank BonusDirect DepositRegionalEasy ApprovalNo Monthly Fee
Offer Details
Offer code — enter at signupCHECKING200
Bonus Amount$200
Account TypeChecking
Direct Deposit RequiredYes
Number of Deposits1
Deposit Window60 days
Bonus Posts In~90 days
Keep Account Open90 days
HardMembership depends on your employer, county or school
Open account →

Affiliate disclosure: Fat Stacks Academy may earn a commission if you open an account through this link, at no additional cost to you.

At a Glance
Requirements
  • Direct deposit: 1 qualifying direct deposit
  • Deposit window: 60 days
  • Enroll in e-statements (go paperless)
  • Enter promo code CHECKING200 when you apply
Eligibility
  • Availability: NC, VA
  • Lifetime limit: one bonus per customer
  • ChexSystems sensitivity: Low
  • Credit pull: soft pull only
Fees
  • Monthly fee: $0 — No monthly fee.
  • Early closure fee: $15
Payout & closure
  • Bonus posts: ~90 days
  • Account hold: Must keep open 90 days
Open account →
No published end date
Bank bonuses are taxable interest — expect a 1099-INT. See our bank bonus tax guide.

What Counts as Direct Deposit

Employer payroll is always the safest method. "Maybe" means some people report it working and it is not guaranteed. Open a row to see the individual reports.

YESEmployer payrollFrom the bank published terms and our own checks
YESGovernment benefits (SSA, pension)From the bank published terms and our own checks
MAYBEFidelity ACH pushFrom the bank published terms and our own checksLimited data points for this bank.
NOPayPal ACHFrom the bank published terms and our own checks
NOVenmo ACHFrom the bank published terms and our own checks
NOZelleFrom the bank published terms and our own checks
How we know
Sign up for eStatements, have one monthly recurring direct deposit going into the checking account, and spend $200 or more on your 1st Advantage Debit Mastercard within 60 days of opening. The bank requires a direct deposit for this bonus but does not state a minimum amount in the terms we have, so we cannot tell you... Source

The reports come from Doctor of Credit comment threads, public Reddit posts, and members who told us what happened to their own deposit. Each one is dated where the person gave a date. Read how we check offers.

Reports are attached to the offer, never to your name. Members can log one from their account instead.

Source: our guide to what counts as direct deposit, verified per-bank against official terms and community data points (originally compiled with help from Doctor of Credit). Data points change, so always verify with the bank.

Overview

1st Advantage Federal Credit Union is currently offering a $200 checking bonus. The qualifying activity is see the qualifying-activity details. The eligible account has no monthly maintenance fee documented in the catalog.

Pros

+$200 cash bonus
+No monthly maintenance fee
+No documented hard credit pull
+60-day qualification window

Cons

-Geographic restrictions apply
-Lifetime or one-bonus-per-customer language applies
-No published end date; terms can change without notice

Notes

Enter promo code CHECKING200 during application. Open a Premier, Preferred or Free Advantage Checking account and enter promo code CHECKING200 at account opening. Sign up for eStatements, have one monthly recurring direct deposit going into the checking account, and spend $200 or more on your 1st Advantage Debit Mastercard within 60 days of opening. Keep the account open and in good standing for 90 days, because closing it inside that window costs a $15 early closing fee. The credit union reviews the account once between day 60 and day 90 and credits the $200 in that same 60 to 90 day stretch. Allow approximately 90 days for the bonus to post after qualification. Keep the account open for at least 90 days.

How This Compares to Other Bonuses

1st Advantage Federal Credit Union's $200 offer is closest in headline value to CIBC US's $200 checking bonus. Compare the direct-deposit requirement, geographic eligibility, fees, approval sensitivity, and payout timing, not only the advertised amount.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the current 1st Advantage Federal Credit Union checking bonus?

1st Advantage Federal Credit Union currently advertises $200. The principal requirement is see the qualifying-activity details.

Does the 1st Advantage Federal Credit Union bonus require direct deposit?

Yes. The catalog currently records a qualifying direct deposit within 60 days. Confirm the bank's exact definition before applying.

When should the 1st Advantage Federal Credit Union bonus post?

The tracked estimate is about 90 days after you satisfy the requirements.

Full Requirements

Open a Premier, Preferred or Free Advantage Checking account and enter promo code CHECKING200 at account opening. Sign up for eStatements, have one monthly recurring direct deposit going into the checking account, and spend $200 or more on your 1st Advantage Debit Mastercard within 60 days of opening. Keep the account open and in good standing for 90 days, because closing it inside that window costs a $15 early closing fee. The credit union reviews the account once between day 60 and day 90 and credits the $200 in that same 60 to 90 day stretch. The bank requires a direct deposit for this bonus but does not state a minimum amount in the terms we have, so we cannot tell you how much to send. Treat any qualifying direct deposit as the requirement and confirm the amount with the bank before relying on it.

Fees

Monthly Fee$0

No monthly fee.

Early Closure Fee$15

ChexSystems & Credit Pull

Chex SensitivityLow
Hard PullNo
Soft PullYes

Low ChexSystems sensitivity.

Eligibility

AvailabilityNC, VA
Lifetime LimitYes

You are not eligible if you already have a checking account with 1st Advantage. Membership covers Hampton Roads and the Virginia Peninsula plus northeastern North Carolina.

Apply

Open Account →

Affiliate disclosure: Fat Stacks Academy may earn a commission if you open an account through this link, at no additional cost to you.

Sources (1)

We last checked this against the bank's page on September 26, 2026.

Historical Promotions

tracked since 2026-04-16
$500see termsall-time high
~2026-07-03 → 2026-07-05
$200see termscurrent
~2026-04-16 → current

This product has offered $500 before (ended ~2026-07-05) — the current $200 is below its historical high.

2026-07-03: bonus increased $200 → $500
Track This Bonus in Stacks OS

Add this offer directly to your dashboard so you can track its requirements, deadline, and payout.

Stacks OS also tells you which bonus to do next for YOUR paycheck.

Bonus tracking is included in the free plan.
🔒
The Direct Deposit Cheat Sheet

What actually counts as a direct deposit at 53 banks. Fidelity, Schwab, ACH pushes, all in one printable table, verified.

Free. Unlocks instantly here and arrives by email.
Unlocking also subscribes you to the free weekly bonus newsletter. Unsubscribe anytime.
Watch the walkthroughs on YouTube →

Comments (0)

Loading comments...
Affiliate Disclosure

Fat Stacks Academy may earn a commission when you open an account through links on this page, at no additional cost to you. Commissions do not influence our reviews — we verify offer terms directly with each bank before publishing and do not accept paid placement in our rankings. Bonus offers, requirements, and fees are determined by each financial institution and may change at any time. Always verify the current terms directly with the bank before applying. This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.

← All reviewsBest checking bonusesBest savings bonuses