Blog/Best Checking Bonuses/[Expired] Ascend Bank $300 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & Requirements

[Expired] Ascend Bank $300 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & Requirements

By Nathaniel Booth2026-04-10Bank Bonuses
CheckingBank BonusDirect DepositRegional
⚠️ This offer has expired — it ended 2026-07-31.

Below is the offer exactly as we last tracked it, kept for reference. It may no longer be available to open.

Live checking bonuses we currently track
Chase $1,000–$3,000 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & RequirementsChase $400–$1,500 Business Checking Bonus (2026) - Review & RequirementsU.S. Bank $400–$1,200 Business Checking Bonus (2026) - Review & Requirements
Offer Details
Bonus Amount$300
Account TypeChecking
Direct Deposit RequiredYes
Deposit Window30 days
Bonus Posts In~60 days
Keep Account Open180 days
At a Glance
Requirements
  • Deposit window: 30 days
  • Minimum opening deposit: $50
  • Enter the offer's promo code when you apply
Eligibility
  • Availability: CT
  • No stated lifetime limit
  • ChexSystems sensitivity: Unknown
  • Credit pull: soft pull only
Fees
  • No early-closure rule listed
Payout & closure
  • Bonus posts: ~60 days
  • Account hold: Must keep open 180 days
  • Holding period: 180 days
Valid through July 31, 2026
Bank bonuses are taxable interest — expect a 1099-INT. See our bank bonus tax guide.

What Counts as Direct Deposit

Based on community data points and bank terms. Employer payroll is always the safest method. "Mixed" means some users report success but it is not guaranteed.

YES
Employer payroll
First qualifying direct deposit within 30 days triggers the bonus (plus active debit-card use).
YES
Government benefits (SSA, pension)
NO
Teller / ATM / mobile check deposit
Explicitly EXCLUDED — only electronic direct deposits qualify.
MAYBE
Brokerage ACH push
Limited Ascend-specific data; payroll is safest.
NO
PayPal / Venmo / Zelle (P2P)
Source: our guide to what counts as direct deposit, verified per-bank against official terms and community data points (originally compiled with help from Doctor of Credit). Data points may change — always verify with the bank.

Overview

Ascend Bank's $300 checking offer is no longer available. This page preserves the final tracked requirements, source, and offer history so you can compare it with currently active bonuses.

Pros

+$300 cash bonus
+No documented hard credit pull

Cons

-Geographic restrictions apply

Notes

Restructured extension: $200 for opening Personal Checking (promo code Spring300, $50 min open, account must stay open 180 days) + $100 for a qualifying direct deposit within 30 days = $300 total. Expires July 31, 2026 (verified on ascend.bank 2026-07-23). The bank requires a direct deposit for this bonus but does not state a minimum amount in the terms we have, so we cannot tell you how much to send. Treat any qualifying direct deposit as the requirement and confirm the amount with the bank before relying on it. Allow approximately 60 days for the bonus to post after qualification. Keep the account open for at least 180 days.

How This Compares to Other Bonuses

Ascend Bank's $300 offer is closest in headline value to PSECU's $300 checking bonus. Compare the direct-deposit requirement, geographic eligibility, fees, approval sensitivity, and payout timing, not only the advertised amount.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the current Ascend Bank checking bonus?

The final offer we tracked paid $300; it is now marked expired.

Does the Ascend Bank bonus require direct deposit?

Yes. The catalog currently records a qualifying direct deposit within 30 days. Confirm the bank's exact definition before applying.

When should the Ascend Bank bonus post?

The tracked estimate is about 60 days after you satisfy the requirements.

Related Bonus Reviews

PSECU $300 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & RequirementsCapital One $300 Checking Account Bonus (2026) - Review & Requirements

Full Requirements

Restructured extension: $200 for opening Personal Checking (promo code Spring300, $50 min open, account must stay open 180 days) + $100 for a qualifying direct deposit within 30 days = $300 total. Expires July 31, 2026 (verified on ascend.bank 2026-07-23). The bank requires a direct deposit for this bonus but does not state a minimum amount in the terms we have, so we cannot tell you how much to send. Treat any qualifying direct deposit as the requirement and confirm the amount with the bank before relying on it.

Fees

NOT DISCLOSED on the offer page. Ascend's promo page says only that "minimum requirements to avoid monthly service fees must be continually met", naming neither the fee nor the requirement, and Doctor of Credit's Monthly Fees field is blank. The bank's generic product page prices tiers (Simple $5, Access $15, Preferred $20, Prime $25) but the offer never says which tier the promotion requires, so any single figure here would be a guess.

ChexSystems & Credit Pull

Chex SensitivityUnknown
Hard PullNo
Soft PullYes

Standard verification reported.

Eligibility

AvailabilityCT
Lifetime LimitNo

Connecticut residents only. New Ascend Bank checking customers.

Sources (2)

We last checked this against the bank's page on August 7, 2026.

Track This Bonus in Stacks OS

Add this offer directly to your dashboard so you can track its requirements, deadline, and payout.

Stacks OS also tells you which bonus to do next for YOUR paycheck.

Bonus tracking is included in the free plan.
🔒
The Direct Deposit Cheat Sheet

What actually counts as a direct deposit at 53 banks. Fidelity, Schwab, ACH pushes, all in one printable table, verified.

Free. Unlocks instantly here and arrives by email.
Unlocking also subscribes you to the free weekly bonus newsletter. Unsubscribe anytime.
Watch the walkthroughs on YouTube →

Comments (0)

Loading comments...
Affiliate Disclosure

Fat Stacks Academy may earn a commission when you open an account through links on this page, at no additional cost to you. Commissions do not influence our reviews — we verify offer terms directly with each bank before publishing and do not accept paid placement in our rankings. Bonus offers, requirements, and fees are determined by each financial institution and may change at any time. Always verify the current terms directly with the bank before applying. This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice.

← All reviewsBest checking bonusesBest savings bonuses